Scientific committee

The scientific committee is composed of a range of experts covering the various disciplines gathered in SETAC and representing the 3 sectors academia, industry and government. With this approach SETAC aims to present a balanced view at its meetings.
The scientific committee plays a crucial role for the success of the meeting. Based on the session proposals received, the committee drafts the scientific framework of the meeting and decides on the topics to be listed on the call for abstracts (which is published by the end of September, shortly after the first scientific committee meeting).
The deadline for abstract submissions is 1 December 2008. Based on the abstracts received at that time, the scientific committee decides on the final list of sessions in its second meeting in December. Following this meeting, the session chairs will programme the individual sessions to complete the process.
Members of the Scientific Committee for the SETAC Europe 19th Annual Meeting:
  • Thomas Backhaus (Chair), Göteborg University, Sweden
  • Göran Dave (Co-chair), Göteborg University, Sweden
  • Patrik Andersson, Umeå University, Sweden
  • Katrien Arijs, SETAC Europe Manager Scientific Affairs, Belgium
  • Hans Blanck, Göteborg University, Sweden
  • Bart Bosveld, SETAC Europe Executive Director, Belgium
  • Tobias Frische, UBA-Fed Env. Agency / SETAC GLB Council, Germany
  • Tom Hutchinson, Plymouth Marine Laboratory, United Kingdom
  • Annette Köhler, ETH Zürich / SETAC LCA Steering Committee, Switzerland
  • Ryszard Laskowski (Chair SC SETAC Europe Meeting 2008), Jagiellonian University, Poland
  • Juliette Legler, Free University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Jose-Julio Ortega-Calvo, Instituto de Recursos Naturales y Agrobiología de Sevilla CSIC, Spain  
  • Ilse Schoeters, Rio Tinto Minerals, Belgium
  • Norbert Scholz, Evonik/Oxeno, Germany
  • Jürg Oliver Straub, F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd, Switzerland
  • Kevin Thomas, Institute for Water Research, Norway
  • Joke van Wensem, Soil Technical Committee, The Netherlands
  • Marco Vighi, University of Milano Bicocca, Italy
  • Jason Weeks, CEFAS, United Kingdom